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1. Purpose.
The purpose of this manual is to state the policy and procedures of the Department of Transportation,
Division of Highways, regarding the issuance of Hauling Permits, hereinafter called "permit", for oversize
and/or overweight movements.

2. Legal Authorization.
Chapter 45, Section 4504 of Title 21 of the Delaware Code delegates authority to the Delaware Department
of Transportation to establish such rules and regulations including the setting of fees as may be needed to
comply with the laws of the State of Delaware and the laws of the Federal Government.

As authorized in Chapter 45, Section 4504 of Title 21 of the Delaware Code, local authorities may issue a
special permit, which may have different requirements from those set forth herein. Every such permit shall be
laid only upon highways under the jurisdiction of and for which the maintenance thereof is the sole
responsibility of the governing body issuing the permit.

In the establishment of this policy, it is not intended, and no section of this policy shall be so interpreted, as to
require the violation of any legal statute, State or Federal.

A permit shall be required for movement on the highways of the State of Delaware when any vehicle, vehicle
combination, vehicle and load combination, and/or equipment or machinery being moved under its own
power exceeds the dimensional and/or weight limits set forth in Chapter 45, Title 21 of the Delaware Code.
The limitations are described below.

3. Legal Vehicle Sizes & Weights.
A. Length

If the overall length of any vehicle or combination of vehicles exceeds the legal length limits contained
herein, a permit shall be required.

(1) Single vehicles, including the load thereon, shall not exceed 40 feet in length including front and
rear bumpers, except buses, which may have an overall length of up to 45 feet.
(2) On Interstate and U. S. Routes not otherwise posted:
(@) The maximum length of a semitrailer and load shall be 53 feet.
(b) The maximum length of a trailer or semi-trailer including load in a truck tractor-

semitrailer-trailer combination shall be 29 feet.
(3) On all other highways:

(& The maximum length of any combination of vehicles shall be 60 feet except as provided
below.

e Tractor and semi-trailer transporting motor vehicles shall be 65 feet exclusive of the
overhang of the transported vehicles.

e Piling and pole trailers and vehicles or combination of vehicles engaged in the
transportation of steel beams, pipes, angles, channels and other lengths of steel, or
other metals, or other articles impossible of dismemberment should not exceed 70
feet. When carrying long logs, poles, piling, and etc. a pole trailer shall be required.

(b) The limitations as to the length of load shall not apply in the case of a vehicle or
combination of vehicles transporting boats commonly known as crew or rowing shells for
use in interscholastic or intercollegiate rowing contests provided that such boats shall not
exceed 70 feet in length.



(4) The maximum overhang shall not exceed 6 feet beyond the rear of the vehicle and no load shall be
permitted to touch or drag upon the roadway regardless of permissible overhang. No vehicle or
combination of vehicles shall carry any load extending more than 3 feet beyond the front thereof.

(5) Pilings and/or poles or mill logs, or nursery stock, or rowing shells, or steel beams, pipes, angles,
channels and other length or steel, or other metal, or other articles impossible of dismemberment
shall not extend more than 10 feet beyond the rear of the bed or body of such vehicle.

B. Width
If the overall width of any vehicle or combination of vehicles exceeds 102 inches measured as defined
below, a permit shall be required.

On Interstate and U. S. Routes the outside width of 102 inches is exclusive of safety equipment, which
may extend not more than 3 inches more on each side of the vehicle.

On all other highways, no vehicle including any load thereon shall exceed a total outside width of 102
inches inclusive of safety devices.

C. Height
If the maximum height of any vehicle or combination of vehicles including load thereon exceeds 13 feet
6 inches it shall be necessary to obtain a permit.

D. Weight
A permit is required if the gross weight of vehicle and load or vehicle combination and load exceeds the
limits for which the vehicle combination are licensed or exceeds the limits imposed by statute as shown
in the following "Table For Maximum Gross Weights".

TABLE FOR MAXIMUM GROSS WEIGHTS

ALL ROADS EXCEPT INTERSTATE THE INTERSTATE SYSTEM

20,000 Ibs. per single axle; 20,000 Ibs. per single axle

34,000 Ibs. per tandem axle; 34,000 Ibs. per tandem axle

2 axle vehicle: 40,000 Ibs. maximum; 2 axle vehicle: 40,000 Ibs. maximum
3 axle vehicle: 65,000*Ibs. maximum; 3 axle vehicle: 54,000 Ibs. maximum
4 axle vehicle: 73,280 lbs. maximum; 4 axle vehicle: 74,000 lbs. maximum
5 axle vehicle: 80,000 Ibs. maximum 5 axle vehicle: 80,000 Ibs. Maximum

or the Bridge Formula, whichever is less

* 3 axle vehicle registered for 65,000 Ibs. may purchase an
annual permit ($100) to carry up to 70,000 Ibs.



Bridge Formula Maximum Gross Weights For The Interstate System

Distance in feet between the |
extremes of any group of | Maximum Load in Pounds Carried on Any Group of 2 or More Consecutive Axles
2 or more consecutive axles |

2 axles 3 axles 4 axles 5 axles 6 axles 7 axles
4 34,000
5 34,000
6 34,000
7 34,000
8 and less 34,000| 34,000
more than 8 38,000| 42,000
9 39,000| 42,500
10 40,000| 43,500
11 44,000
12 45,000 50,000
13 45,500 50,500
14 46,500 51,500
15 47,000 52,000
16 48,000 52,500 58,000
17 48,500 53,500 58,500
18 49,500 54,000 59,000
19 50,000 54,500 60,000
20 51,000 55,500 60,500 66,000
21 51,500 56,000 61,000 66,500
22 52,500 56,500 61,500 67,000
23 53,000 57,500 62,500 68,000
24 54,000 58,000 63,000 68,500 74,000
25 58,500 63,500 69,000 74,500
26 59,500 64,000 69,500 75,000
27 60,000 65,000 70,000 75,500
28 60,500 65,500 71,500 76,500
29 61,500 66,000 71,500 77,000
30 62,000 66,500 72,000 77,500
31 62,500 67,500 72,500 78,000
32 63,500 68,000 73,000 78,500
33 64,000 68,500 74,000 79,000
34 64,500 69,000 74,500 80,000
35 65,500 70,000 75,000
36 66,000 70,500 75,500
37 66,500 71,000 76,000
38 67,500 71,500 77,000
39 68,000 72,500 77,500
40 68,500 73,000 78,000
41 69,500 73,500 78,500
42 70,000 74,000 79,000
43 70,500 75,000 80,000
44 71,500 75,500
45 72,000 76,000
46 72,500 76,500
47 73,500 77,500
48 74,000 78,000
49 78,500
50 79,000
51 80,000




4. Who Must Apply for Permits.

a. A permitis required for movement on the highways of the State of Delaware when any vehicle and/or
load exceeds the limits described above.

b. All motor vehicles, combination of vehicles, self propelled equipment, and machinery shall be licensed
prior to an application being made for a permit.

c. Implements of husbandry which are being temporarily operated, moved or transported upon State
maintained highways except Interstate and U. S. Routes are not required to obtain a hauling permit. A
permit is not required on the Interstate and U.S. Routes when the equipment is being used by farmers
engaged in their agricultural related practices. A permit is required at all other times.

d. A permit is not required for any vehicle crossing or entering upon State maintained highways while
engaged in construction or maintenance operations, provided such moves are made within the limits of
a Federal, State, County, or Municipal Contract.

e. A permit is not required for Federally defined STAA vehicles on the defined STAA routes. The Federal
Register, Volume 55, Number 83, dated Monday, April 30, 1990, page 17952, lists the following roads,
as well as the Interstates 95, 495 and 295, as the designated STAA routes in Delaware:

e U.S. Route 13, from the Maryland State Line, to the 1-495 South Interchange in Wilmington.
e U.S. Route 40, from the Maryland State Line, to 1-295, U.S. Route 13, in Wilmington.

e U.S. Route 113, from the Maryland State Line, to U.S. Route 13, in Dover.

e U.S. Route 301, from the Maryland State Line, to U.S. Route 40, in Glasgow.

e Separately, Delaware has designated U.S. Route 202, from U.S. Route 13, to the Pennsylvania
State Line; and State Route 1, from 1-95, to U.S. 113, in Dover as routes open to STAA
vehicles.

5. HOW TO OBTAIN A HAULING PERMIT

A. Electronically (Internet):

Application of permits can also be done electronically directly by the permittee. This
direct entry process is described in detail in the State of Delaware Oversize Overweight
Permit System User's Guide for the On-Line Customer available from the Hauling
Permit Office.

B. In Person (Walk-in at County Counter):

Permits may be obtained by appearing in person at a DelDOT County Counter.
Counter locations are:

Delaware Department of Transportation
Bear Highway Administration Building
Delaware Route 7

Bear, DE (302) 326-4683

Delaware Department of Transportation
Public Safety Building

303 Transportation Circle

Room 112

Dover, DE (302) 744-2700

Delaware Department of Transportation
Georgetown Highway Administration Building
USs 113

Georgetown, DE (302) 853-1324



C. Third Party (Permit Service):

Permits may also be obtained by contacting any one of the several communications
redistribution firms (Permit Service) authorized by the State to perform such work. The
current listing of such firms is available by contacting the Permit Office in Dover,
Delaware.

6. Information Required

a.

It is the responsibility of the permittee to supply all information necessary to complete the permit. A
sample permit showing all of the required data is attached in Appendix A.

Superloads may require further information as outlined later in this document. A superload is defined as
a vehicle and/or load fifteen (15) feet or more in width, fifteen (15) feet or more in height, one hundred
twenty (120) feet or more in length, and/or has a gross weight in excess of 120,000 pounds. These
moves may require additional information, review, restrictions, and/or fees prior to issuance of the
permit. All applications for superload moves should be submitted at least five working days in advance
of the requested movement date. Less notice may result in a delay of movement because engineering
review can take up to five days. The Department will accept no liability or other claim due to processing
delay or the refusal to permit the move at all.

7. Rules of Issuance

a.

Any person making application for a permit shall provide accurate information concerning the granting
of the permit. Any permit obtained on the basis of false or misleading data is null and void. Any fee
levied for it shall not be transferred or returned.

No person shall violate any of the terms, conditions, restrictions, rules, or regulations published as a
part of this policy or stated on the permit. Failure by the applicant to comply with and agree to all
provisions stated within this policy and stated on the face of the permit shall render the permit null and
void. Such violations may also be the basis for denying future permits.

All permit applications will be considered on an individual basis. The safety devices, rules and
regulations required of each move are described in Appendix B, titled, 'Common Safety Standards’. The
Department reserves the right to require flagmen, additional signs or escorts, along with any other
precautions deemed necessary by the Director of Highway Operations or his authorized representative
to insure the safety of the traveling public.

The issuance of a hauling permit by the State in no way guarantees any roadway or structure to be
capable of carrying or passing the vehicle or load described. The permit does not supersede any lesser
load limit posted on a bridge or highway unless so noted.

The permittee shall assume all responsibility for any damages to road surface, traffic control devices,
bridges or other structures and all liability in case of injury to person or property, public or private, that
may result from such movement. Liability and property damage insurance in sufficient amounts to cover
any and all claims that may arise shall be carried by the permittee, and under the coverage, the State of
Delaware shall be saved harmless from any such claim.

Every permit granted shall be electronically generated and shall be issued or validated by a State of
Delaware Permit Agent. Each permit shall contain a description of the vehicle and/or load, a complete
routing schedule, a statement of fee levied and the name of the authorized officer of the granting
authority.

Permits may be granted only for vehicles or trailers complying with Title 21, Chapter 21, of the Delaware
Code. Every permit shall be carried in the vehicle to which it refers during the movement it authorizes
and it shall be open to inspection by any peace officer. Copies of multi-trip permits issued to utility
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companies may be carried by their vehicles in lieu of the original. Copies of multi-trip route permits shall
be posted at the destination point or the main office of the company. Copies of a ship permit may be
carried by the movers of the loads associated with the ship permit.

h. Permits shall not be issued for a reducible load, with the exception of 3 axle vehicles and ship permits
described herein. Reducible load is defined as the required removal of component items, using
appropriate equipment, in no more than 8 workhours. The applicant for a nondivisible load permit has
the burden of proof as to the number of workhours required to dismantle the load.

i. Delaware law allows for 3 axle vehicles to carry up to 65,000 Ibs. and further, with the obtaining of an
annual weight registration fee permit, carry up to 70,000 Ibs. These vehicles are legal an all roads in
Delaware with the exception of the Interstate where the Bridge Formula prevails. The State of
Delaware, under grandfather clauses allows for single trip permits to be issued for these vehicles to run
on the Interstate in Delaware up to their registered and/or permitted weight. For 4 axle vehicles the
GVW permitted is 73,280 Ibs.

j- Delaware acknowledges being pre-exempted for reasonable access to be in compliance with
23FR658.19. With the exception of the Interstate system, all designated routes have full facilities on
route and do not require additional access. On the Interstate system, reasonable access shall be as
defined in 23FR658.19 except at those interchanges where no facilities are available and are so signed.

8. Types of Permits

A. Single-trip Permit
Single trip permits shall be issued for single trips from the designated starting point to the designated
terminal point. Intermediate terminal stopping points and round trips are not permitted.

B. Multi-trip Permit
Multi-trip permits shall be issued for the period beginning the first day of the month to the first day of the
following month. Each permit shall be valid as authorized herein; it shall not be transferable.

D Utility companies may be issued a permit for piling and pole trailers. Each permit
may be valid for up to four designated trailers at the time of issue.

(2) Utility companies and governmental agencies may be issued a permit for a
manned and/or unmanned aerial type single motor vehicle up to 50 feet long. Each
permit shall be valid for an individual vehicle only.

3) Pole, piling, and mill stock haulers may be issued a permit for pole, piling, and
mill stock movements. Each permit shall be valid for an individual tractor only.

4) Ship permits may be issued for oversize and/or overweight vehicles engaged in
ship offloading operations conducted at the Port of Wilmington to designated
locations on designated state-maintained routes exclusive of Interstate routes within
two (2) miles from the property limits of the Port of Wilmington.

Multi-trip permits shall not be issued for any purpose not specifically authorized
in (1), (2), (3), or (4) of this section.

9. Permit Fees

a. A permit for an oversize movement (not overweight) has a fixed issuance fee of $10, which is
chargeable to all classifications except as noted in ’b’ below.

b. The permit fee for the movement of a superload (a load that is 120 feet or more in length or 15 feet
or more in width or 15 feet or more in height or over 120,000 pounds in weight) is $30 plus any
overweight fees noted in ‘d’ below. Mobile and modular homes that fall within the limits of a
superload are treated as such and the fee is $30.00.



c. There is an additional fee of $2 for any change to a validated permit.

d. The fee for overweight movements shall be an additional $5 per each 8,000 Ibs. or fraction thereof
over the licensed weight.

e. The fee for multi-trip permits (except a ship permit) is $30 per month. Multi-trip permits (except a
ship permit) may be purchased in advance for periods of not more than 24 months. The fee for a
ship permit is $900 per ship and of five days duration.

f. Payment on account may be made by check or money order payable to:
Delaware Department of Transportation

g. Remittances may be submitted in person to any County Counter office noted in paragraph ‘5B’
above or sent to the following mailing address:

Hauling Permit Office
P. O. Box 7065
Dover, DE 19903-7065

10. Extreme Emergency Permit
a. The emergency must be of an extreme nature, which can be confirmed by a police agency.

The necessary equipment and/or the necessary routes cannot be determined during normal business
hours.

c. Procedure:
e Contact the Dover Hauling Permit Office (302) 744-2700 during business hours.

e Explain the nature of the emergency and the estimated number of moves
required.

e Emergency validation numbers will be issued.

e The emergency number will permit the movement of loads and vehicles not
exceeding 14 feet in width or 100,000 Ibs. in weight on four axles, 108,000 Ibs.
on five axles or 120,000 Ibs. on six or more axles. Since the Department will not
be consulted in advance concerning the route, the Permittee by accepting the
numbers, accepts all responsibility for any accidents, damage, or other claims of
any type or nature whatsoever. The issuance of an emergency permit does not
authorize the movement of the permitted vehicle over a weight-restricted bridge.

d. Loads must be well marked for daylight hours and well lighted for nighttime moves in
accordance with the ‘Common Safety Standards’ defined in Appendix B.

e. Nonbusiness Hours Emergency Procedure:

Call the Transportation Management Center Phone Line (302) 659-2400.
You will be put in contact with a Department official who can approve the
emergency move.

11. Government No Charge Permits
The Department may issue no charge hauling permits to government agencies (Federal, State, County &
Local) for the movement of they’re over dimensional and/or overweight equipment.

Additional information concerning the formulation of such an agreement can be obtained by
contacting the Hauling Permit Office at (302) 744-2700.



12. Superloads

A superload is defined as a vehicle and/or load fifteen (15) feet or more in width, fifteen (15) feet or more in
height, one hundred twenty (120) feet or more in length, and/or has a gross weight in excess of 120,000
pounds. Examples of Superloads include house moves, overweight reactors, generators, cranes, etc. All
applications for superload moves should be submitted at least five working days in advance of the
requested movement date. Less notice may result in a delay of movement because of processing time. The
Department will accept no liability or other claim due to processing delay or the refusal to permit the move at
all.

a. Width Requirements:

If the load is so wide that passage by it cannot occur at least every fifteen minutes, the escort
requirement will include sufficient Police Officers to provide diverting of traffic at reasonable
points.
b. Height Requirements:
(1) 15 ft. and higher
Signal Supervisor approval:

New Castle County 323-4488
Kent and Sussex County  739-4366

(2) 17 ft. 6 in. and higher

Clearance from the appropriate utility company serving the intended route.

(3) 20’ and higher
Superloads with a height of 20 feet or more must be scheduled so that not less than
two (2) days remain in the workweek.

c. Length Requirements:

Prior to the issuance of a permit for a movement that is 120’ or greater in length, permission for
the movement must be obtained from the District Maintenance Engineer's for each district in
which the proposed movement is to occur.

New Castle County 302-323-4485
Kent County 302-760-2417
Sussex County 302-856-5200

d. Weight Requirements:

Applications for permits for loads which exceed a gross weight of 120,000 pounds, or which
involve a route across any structure which is posted with a load limit below the gross weight of
the proposed movement, must be processed and approved by the Bridge Section of the
Department of Transportation before being approved by the Permit Office.

e. General Requirements:

e An acknowledgement of notice to any incorporated area on the route will be
required.

e Escort, sign, and flag requirements are outlined in Appendix B ‘Common Safety
Standards’.

e Delaware State Police are required to be notified 48 hours in advance.

e An acknowledgment of notice to the 911 office for the area will be required by
contacting non-emergency numbers:

e No superload moves two weeks before a Holiday without special permission
being obtained from Traffic Engineering and Management.
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13. Policy Directive - Oversize/Overweight Blanket Permits (Annual Crane
Permit)

STATE OF DELAWARE

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
PO, DrRAWER E
Dover, DELAWARE 19903

DELAWARE DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES, MOTOR FUEL TAX ADMINISTRATION
POLICY DIRECTIVE - OVERSIZE/OVERWEIGHT BLANKET PERMITS
#2006 — 1 (EFFECTIVE FEBRUARY 1, 2006)

Blanket Permit: An annual crane permit allows movement of cranes, as defined by 21 Del C. ¢. 1,
§101 (5), on designated or all unrestricted routes, or both, unless posted. In accordance with 21 Del C.
c. 45, §4504, this permit can be obtained only by operators of self-propelled cranes. Separate permits
are required for each power unit, and are not transferable.

The following provisions apply:
A. Permit shall have duration of one year from the effective date.

B. Movement will be in compliance with Appendix B - Common Safety Standards of the
Delaware Department of Transportation (DelDOT) Oversize Overweight (OSOW) Hauling
Permit Policy and Procedures Manual, with the following exceptions:

e While standard permitted vehicles may move only from sunrise to sunset, Monday through
Friday, self-propelled cranes with Blanket Permits may also move during the evening
Monday through Friday, provided that the following escort and lighting requirements are
met:

o Self-propelled cranes with an annual blanket permit moving after normal hours in
excess of 9 feet wide, or those unable to maintain posted speed limits, must be
accompanied by a rear escort on divided highways, and both front and rear escorts on
undivided highways. Warning lights shall be in accordance with Appendix B of the
DelDOT OSOW Hauling Permit Policy and Procedures Manual.

e Self-propelled cranes with Blanket Permits are authorized to move on Saturdays before
12:00 p.m.

» Permitted vehicles are prohibited from operating on the following holidays: New Years
Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, the day after
Thanksgiving, and Christmas. A self-propelled crane with a Blanket Permit will be granted
permission to operate on any of these designated days, as well as Saturdays after 12:00 p.m.
and Sundays, only during confirmed emergency situations (which are subject to
confirmation by DelDOT personnel).

e In designated congested areas, DelDOT may restrict movement during AM and PM
commuter travel periods

e The Blanket Permit holder is required and responsible for obtaining current travel

restrictions prior to movement with blanket permits.
4.‘-'-" DelDOT =—
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Policy Directive #2006 —1 (Oversize/Overweight Blanket Permits)

Page 2

C. Size of crane must not exceed:
(1) Length - 70 feet
(2) Width - 12 feet
(3) Height -13 feet 6 inches
(4) Weight -

1. 2 axle - 56,000 pounds

ii. 3 axle - 84,000 pounds

ii. 4 axle - 112,000 pounds

iv. 5 axle or more - 120,000 pounds

v. Maximum single axle weight should be 28,000 Ibs in any axle configuration.

D. The following fee structure shall apply:

The base cost of a one-year Blanket Permit is:

o $1,500 for Self-Propelled Cranes up to and including 24,000 Ibs
o $2,500 for Self-Propelled Cranes over 24,000 Ibs.

There is also a weight fee, which is calculated as follows:

o A $5 per-trip charge is assessed per each 8000 lbs (or fraction thereof) over the
licensed weight (legal limit based on the number of axles: 2 axles - 40,000 Ibs,; 3 axles
- 65,000 Ibs.; 4 axles — 73,280 Ibs; S or more axles - 80,000 Ibs).

o The difference between the actual weight and the legal weight is divided by 8,000 Ibs to
arrive at a computation factor, which is rounded to the nearest whole number. This
factor is then multiplied by $5 to determine the additional weight fee.

o Once the per-trip weight fee is computed, it is multiplied by 52 (based upon a
reasonable determination that a Blanket Permit holder will travel at least once a week
over the entire year of the permit).

o Example - The weight fee for a 3 axle self-propelled crane at 84,000 Ibs would be
computed as follows: 84,000 Ibs minus 65,000 Ibs equals 19,000 lbs over legal licensed
weight. 19,000 Ibs divided by 8,000 Ibs = 2.37, rounded down to 2. Two multiplied by
$5 = $10, which is then multiplied by 52 to arrive at a yearly weight fee of $520. With
the base cost, the total Blanket Permit fee in this example is $3,020.

Toll fees will NOT be computed as part of the Blanket Permit. It shall be the responsibility
of the Blanket Permit holder to remit all toll fees at the time of toll road travel.

E. To qualify for an annual blanket permit:

Insurance must be in force for the effective duration of the permit.
A copy of current State of Delaware Business License must be available for verification.

All drivers of the affected self-propelled cranes must be properly licensed.

12




Policy Directive #2006 -1 (Oversize/Overweight Blanket Permits)

Page 3

The following documentation must be forwarded to the Hauling Permit Office prior to the
submission of the online hauling permit application:

.

Copy of Vehicle registration.

Certified weight of each self-propelled crane. Certification of crane (with full tank of fuel
and driver) will be performed at the Smyrna (Blackbird) Weigh Station by personnel of the
Delaware State Police Truck Enforcement Unit. Crane must be presented in a reduced load
configuration (Required removal of component items, using appropriate equipment, in no
more than 8 workhours). The applicant for a nondivisible load permit has the burden of
proof as to the number of workhours required to dismantle the load. Contact to set up an
appointment by calling 302-378-5230.

Crane manufacturer dimensional drawing.
Pictures of each self-propelled crane - sides, front and rear.

A full description of the roadway lighting system. A self-propelled crane that does not meet
the prescribed lighting requirements will not be issued a blanket permit.

Violation of any established rules and regulations during the time a blanket permit is held shall be
cause for suspension of the current blanket permit for a time period determined by DelDOT (according
to the severity of the violation). Subsequent violations could result in the loss of the permit for the
remainder of the permit term, and/or the ability to obtain future blanket permits.

Movement from origin to destination must be by the most feasible direct route. Under all conditions,
the permit holder must comply with safety considerations, bridge loading and clearance postings, and
roadway restrictions and postings.

Blanket permit applications will be processed within two (2) weeks of submission of all required
documents. All blanket permits will be re-evaluated prior to renewal.

PLEASE NOTE: a Superload will not be permitted under a blanket permit.
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APPENDIX A — Sample of State of Delaware Permit

STATE OF DELAWARE PERMIT
OVERSIZE/OVERWEIGHT NONDIVISIBLE LOADS

PAGE OF
APPLICANT REQUESTED START DATE | ZVERALL FEFT WIHEs CWERALL FEET IeCHES
LEMGTH HEIGHT
LOAD DESCRIPTION — MAKE, MODEL, SERIAL Na, OR BILL OF LADEG Mo LOAD CODE
e WIDTH :;::-I:;INQ[\JL FEET ®™CHES
REAR

S00T ] FEN | 554
MOTOR CARRIER'S NAME AND ADDRESS JSOOT/FEINT 55

VEMICLE LicPLates | s1 #0F
EUWEE L FNOMEVING | JUR | AXLES
POWER
UNIT
TRAILER
AXLE# | STEERING AXLE 2 3 4 5 B 7 GROSS WEIGHT
ANLE
WEIGHTS
AXLE SPACINGS
FEET/INCHES'
SPECIFIC ADDRESS OF TRIP ORIGIN SPECIFIC ADDRESS OF TRIP DESTINATION
ROUTING INFORMATION FEES
MIN:
W1
TOLLS:
AMEND
TOLLS: MO LINE BIDDLES: DOVER: TOTAL:

I{WE ) HAVE READ THIS FORM AND HEREBY CERTIFY: THAT THE ABOVE DATA IS CORRECT TO THE BEST OF MY{OUR) KNOWLEDGE AND
BELIEF, THAT THE LOAD IS NONDIVISIBLE, THAT SATISFACTORY ARRANGEMENTS HAVE BEEN MADE WITH THE PROPER AUTHORITIES TO
TRAVEL ROADS AND CROSS OVER AND UNDER ALL STRUCTURES OPERATED BY AUTHORITIES NOT PARTY TO THIS PERMIT. APPENDIX B OF
THE DELAWARE HAULING PERMIT MANUAL CONTAINS THE COMMON SAFETY STANDARDS THAT APPLY TO THIS MOVE. COPIES ARE
AVAILABLE FROM THE PERMIT OFFICE OR THE APPLICANT'S REPRESENTATIVE.

NAME OF APPLICANT'S REPRESENTATIVE FEP'S PHOME NUMEER

DRIVER SIGMATURE
DATE & TIME OF APPLICATION HEP'S FAX NUMEER

DORIVER SIGMATURE
EFFECTIVE DATE ISEUE DATE

EXPIRATION DATE 1SEUE TIME PERMIT MUMEER

SPECIAL PROVISIONS:

THE SIGNED PERMIT MUST BE WITH THE VEHICLE DURING THE MOVE. AUTHORIZATION AND PERMISSION 1S HEREBY GRANTED TO MOVE THE
VEHICLE/LOAD ON THE ROUTING AS DESCRIBED ABOVE. THIS MOVEMENT SHALL ALSO BE MADE IN COMPLIANCE WITH DELAWARE LAW.
THIS PERMIT MAY BE CONFISCATED AND/OR INVALIDATED IF ANY LAWS, RULES, REGULATIONS, OR PROVISIONS OF THE STATE OF
DELAWARE ARE VIOLATED. ALL POSTED HIGHWAY/ERIDGE LIMITS MUST BE OBSERVED UMLESS SPECIFICALLY EXEMPTED HEREIN. THE
ISSUANCE OF THIS PERMIT DOES NOT GUARANTEE THAT ANY HIGHWAY OR STRUCTURE IS CAPABLE OF CARRYING OR PASSING THE
VEHICLE OR LOAD DESCRIBED.
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APPENDIX B — Common Safety Standards

COMMON SAFETY STANDARDS
INTRODUCTION

The Delaware Department of Transportation has adopted the following common safety standards for
use by permittees when in transit within Delaware. The safety standards have been adapted from the
"Guide for Maximum Dimensions and Weights of Motor Vehicles and for the Operation of Non-divisible
Load Oversize and Overweight Vehicles" prepared by the Subcommittee on Highway Transport and
officially adopted by the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (Revised
November 1991). They have been further refined by the Northeast Association of State Transportation
Officials (NASTO) Highway Transport Committee for use as a common set of standards for all
movements throughout the region.

DAYS AND HOURS OF OPERATION

Permitted vehicles may move Monday through Friday, from sunrise to sunset, unless otherwise
authorized or prohibited by this section or the permit.

In designated congested areas, the Department may prohibit permitted vehicles from moving during AM
and/or PM commuter travel periods; and/or authorize permitted vehicles to move during designated
times between sunset and sunrise, subject to special lighting requirements identified herein.

Due to the amount of highway traffic on holidays, vehicles and loads requiring oversize and/or
overweight permits shall be prohibited from traveling on those days. Prohibited holidays include New
Year's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, the day after
Thanksgiving, and Christmas. Movement of such vehicles and loads may also be prohibited on any
other days or hours when such movements may substantially affect the safety of the motoring public.
Ship Permits are exempt from this prohibition.

Superloads and any other oversize and/or overweight moves that can not move at normal posted
highway speeds (within 10 mph) are restricted from moves in Kent and/or Sussex County on Monday
morning prior to 12 Noon and Friday afternoon after 12 Noon during the timeframe from May 15" to
October 15", This restriction applies to the following roads, US 9, US 13, US 113, SR 1, SR 18, SR 24,
SR 26, SR 54, and SR 404.

INCLEMENT WEATHER
No movement shall be permitted when road conditions, weather conditions, or visibility make traveling
hazardous to the operator or the driving public. If a permitted vehicle is underway when such conditions

occur, the driver shall be required to proceed to a safe place off the roadway and park until conditions
warrant safe travel.

SPEED LIMITS

Vehicles and loads requiring permits may travel at the posted maximum speed limits unless specifically
prohibited by the permit.
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ROUTING

The permit shall authorize movement only on the pavement portion of those highways specified in the
permit. The permit does not authorize movement upon shoulders.

Vehicles and loads requiring permits should be routed around highway construction and maintenance
projects and shall be routed around certain bridges or roadways in a way that creates the least hazard
and inconvenience to both the mover and the public.

The permit is only for the route designated. The permit is only issued for movement on state maintained
roadways (entire road network with the exception of some local city/town streets). Individual city or
town’s rules/regulations may govern movement off the permitted route.

Every effort should be made to use the most suitable road network, which is closest to a straight line
projected between the point of origin and final designation of the load.

ESCORTS

Escort vehicle(s) shall be a single unit non-permitted vehicle, no smaller than a compact car. The escort
vehicle shall not be attached to any other vehicle.

Escort vehicle(s) shall escort only one oversize vehicle or load. More restrictive conditions may be
required on high volume highways or when the lane width is less than twelve (12) feet.

One (1) escort vehicle is required for vehicles and loads more than twelve (12) feet in width but not
exceeding fourteen (14) feet. The escort vehicle shall be behind an over width vehicle or load on a
multi-lane highway, and in front of an over width vehicle or load on a two-lane highway.

Two (2) escort vehicles are required for vehicles and loads more than fourteen (14) feet in width. One
(1) escort vehicle shall be in front of the over width vehicle or load and one (1) behind. A separate state
police escort (third escort) is required for vehicles and loads more than fifteen (15) feet in width.

Vehicles and loads eighty-five (85) feet or more in overall length are required to have one (1) rear escort
vehicle. Vehicles and loads one hundred (100) feet or more in overall length are required to have two
(2) escorts, one (1) in front, and one (1) in the rear. Vehicles and loads one hundred twenty (120) or
more in length are required to have a separate state police escort (third escort).

Two (2) escort vehicles are required for vehicles and loads fifteen (15) feet or more in height. One (1)
escort vehicle shall be in front of the over height vehicle or load and one (1) behind. A separate state
police escort (third escort) is required for vehicles and loads seventeen feet six inches (17’ 6”) or more
in height.

Vehicles and loads with fifteen (15) feet or greater rear overhang shall have one (1) rear escort unless
the permit specifies otherwise.

Two (2) escort vehicles, one (1) in front and one (1) behind the oversize vehicle are required when
previous paragraphs separately require one (1) escort in the front and one (1) behind for multiple
conditions.

Two (2) escort vehicles are required for vehicles and loads over 120,000 Ibs.weight. One (1) escort
vehicle shall be in front of the over weight vehicle or load and one (1) behind. A separate state police
escort (third escort) is required.

A single Delaware State Police escort can escort up to a maximum of two loads in a single move if the

loads are moved at the same time, other required escorts are available as stated above, and
communication is present between the loads.
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Vehicles and loads that are only overweight or are twelve (12) feet or less in width and that cannot
move freely with the flow of traffic may be subject to escort requirements.

Escort Vehicles shall have visual contact with the permitted vehicle and have two-way radio
communication with the driver of the permitted vehicle.

WARNING FLAGS

Required warning flags shall be in evidence during daylight hours. Red or orange fluorescent warning
flags shall be at least eighteen (18) inches square. Flags shall be securely fastened to the vehicle or
load by at least one corner of the flag or securely mounted on a staff.

Warning flags are required on vehicles and loads, which exceed legal width. These vehicles and loads
are required to bear flags at the extremities of the vehicle or load as shown in Figure B-1.

Flags are also required on vehicles and loads which exceed legal length or which have a rear overhang
in excess of four (4) feet. There shall be a single flag at the extreme rear if the over length or projecting
portion is two (2) feet wide or less. Two (2) flags are required if the over length or projecting portion is
wider than two (2) feet and shall be located to indicate maximum width. (See Figure B-2)

WARNING LIGHTS
General Lighting Requirements
Load hauling vehicles and escort vehicles shall travel with low beam headlights on at all times.

While not required in Delaware, load-hauling vehicles may display a flashing 360-degree yellow (amber)
light at an elevation above the highest point of the vehicle. A second flashing 360-degree light may be
at the rear of the load if the load obstructs the visibility of the 360-degree light on the load-hauling
vehicle. The 360-degree light shall be visible in all directions from a distance of 1,000 feet during
daylight hours with a flash rate of 60 to 90 flashes per minute (FPM). The 360-degree light lens shall be
at least 4 inches high whose minimum width or diameter at that height is 4 3/4 inches.

While not required in Delaware, warning lights for escort vehicles shall be located on the roof of the
vehicle perpendicular to the length of the escort vehicle. The warning light bar shall be a minimum of 43
inches and a maximum of 52 inches long, a minimum of 10 inches and a maximum of 13 inches wide,
and a minimum of 4 inches with a maximum of 8 inches high, consisting of flashing or strobe lights.
Each warning light bar shall consist of a minimum of four lights. If flashing lights are used, they shall
consist of at least two 95 and two 150 minimum FPM rotators; mirrors shall be placed diagonally
between lights (mirrors to be reflective on both sides). All lights shall be visible on a 360-degree basis
from the vehicle for a distance of 1,000 feet and arranged with at least two lights in each end of the bar
light. The dome cover color shall be amber. The warning lights may be displayed while escorting the
load in Delaware.

Whenever the rear running lights, stop lights, turn signals, or hazard-warning lights are obstructed by
the load on a vehicle, lighting equipment shall be displayed on the rear of the load equivalent to the
obstructed lights or signals.

Load Warning Lights

Warning lights shall be used for authorized night operations as shown in Figures B-3 and B-4.

For over width loads uniform in width, place amber lights on the forward corners of the load and red
lights on the rear corners of the load as shown in Figure B-3.
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If the load is over width for its entire length with a wider portion near the middle of the load, place red
and amber lights at the rear and front corners of the load, respectively, with amber lights on the sides at
the extreme limits of the load as shown in Figure B-3.

If the load is non-uniform in width, place red and amber lights at the rear and front corners, respectively
of the over width portion as shown in Figure B-3.

For loads of legal width that are over length with a rear overhang exceeding four (4) feet, place four red
lights on the rear and sides of the overhanging portion of the load. Amber lights are required at least
every 6 feet on both sides of the overhang as shown in Figure B-4.

WARNING SIGNS

Warning signs shall be in evidence during all oversize movements. Load hauling vehicle warning signs
shall be at least seven (7) feet long and eighteen (18) inches high. The sign's background shall be
yellow with black lettering, and for night moves, of high-intensity reflective material. Letters shall be at
least ten (10) inches high with a 1.41 inch brush stroke. Note: If Series E Modified is used, the brush
stroke is to be two (2) inches.

Vehicles and loads exceeding legal width shall display two signs with the wording "OVERSIZE LOAD".
One sign shall be on the front of the vehicle. The other shall be on the rear of the load; however, if the
sign cannot be attached to, or is not legible on the load, then the sign shall be attached to the rear of the
vehicle itself. Refer to Figure B-5.

Vehicle and loads exceeding legal length or rear overhang shall be required to display two signs with
the wording "OVERSIZE LOAD". One sign shall be on the rear of the over length or overhanging part of
the load; however, if the sign cannot be attached or is not legible here, then the sign shall be attached
to the rear of the vehicle itself. The other sign shall be attached to the front of the vehicle. Refer to
Figure B-6.

Escort vehicles shall display a sign on the roof or front and rear of the escort vehicle that is at least five
(5) feet long and twelve (12) inches high with eight (8) inch high letters. For roof-mounted signs, the
sign shall be legible on both sides with the wording "OVERSIZE LOAD". The sign shall be mounted on
the roof perpendicular to the length of the escort vehicle. For front and rear mounted signs the legend
shall read "OVERSIZE LOAD".

Warning signs shall not obstruct lights and other safety devices on the vehicle with load or on the escort
vehicle.
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APPENDIX B

Delaware Common Safetx Standards for Permit Move

GREATER
A —— THAH -
: e H

Figure B-1 Required Waming Flags on Owennidth Loads.
Mote: Use of flags is not to increase the owerall load width.

GREATER
THAN
=

T

- Bl ; L | LEGEND
ol ' - O Feae

~ GREATER
THAN
4

PORLESS.

Figura B-1 Required Waming Flags on Owerdength Load or Loads with a8 Rear End Owerhang of mone than four (4 fast.
Maote: Use of flags is not to increase the overall load width.

PAGE !
dehASHTOI0E

19



APPENDIX B
Delaware Common Safety Standards for Permit Move

Figure B-3 Required W arning Lights on Oyerwidth Loads.
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AFPENDIX B

Common Safetz Standards for Permit Move
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APPENDIX C — State of Delaware Escort Requirements

STATE OF DELAWARE ESCORT REQUIREMENTS

EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2000

LENGTH: at 85 REAR

at 100’ REAR FRONT

at 120’ REAR FRONT DSP
WIDTH: over 12’ REAR on mult-lane,

FRONT on two lane

over 14’ REAR FRONT

over 15 REAR FRONT DSP
HEIGHT: at 15’ REAR FRONT

at 176" REAR FRONT DSP
WEIGHT: over 120K Ibs REAR FRONT DSP
OVERHANG at 15" REAR unless permit specifies otherwise

SUPERLOAD Length at 120’
Width at 15’
Height at 15’

Weight over 120, 000 Ibs
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