## The Delaware Sign Law

- ▶ Signs may not be placed within the State's Right of Way.
- ► Although not always exact, a good rule of thumb is that the Right of Way is typically one foot behind any utility poles.
- ▶ Utility poles are the large wooden poles that carry electric, phone, and cable wires that typically run parallel to the roadway.

## Sign are also never allowed:

- ► On utility poles, light poles, traffic signal poles, or road signs
- ► On bridges or any overpass
- ▶ In medians, islands, or gore areas



Signs placed illegally are not only unattractive, but can be dangerous to motorists and pedestrians.

Each sign that is in violation results in a fine of \$25, and a \$15 recovery fee.

For more information on sign placement, see 17 Del. Code, Sections 524-527 and 1111 (C).

Delaware's Sign Legislation 17 **DEL.CODE** Sections 524, 525, 526, 526 and 1111(c)

Typical Divided Highways



For Questions about the sign laws, contact your nearest DelDOT office: New Castle – 302-326-4688 | Kent – 302-760-2443 | Sussex – 302-853-1327

