Skip to Content Skip to Navigation logo

Delaware Department of Transportation

Oversize / Overweight Permit System

FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions

FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions

  • Why do I need a hauling permit?
    A permit shall be required for movement on the highways of the State of Delaware when any vehicle, vehicle combination, vehicle and load combination, and/or equipment or machinery being moved under its own power exceeds the dimensional and/or weight limits set forth in Chapter 45, Title 21 of the Delaware Code.
  • How do I contact the Hauling Permit Office?
    'Click' on the Contact Us link on the Main (menu) screen. Telephone / fax number and email address will display for the Hauling Permit Office. Additionally, telephone numbers for the Help Desk, various DelDOT sections as well as other state agencies will display for your use.
  • How and where do I send funds to replenish my Fund Account?
    Refer to paragraph 14, Maintaining a Fund Account in the DelDOT Oversize Overweight permit System USER GUIDE.   Click on the User Guide link under the INFORMATION group of links to the left.
  • Why do I have a Customer Code and a Fund Account Number?
    The system was designed for all customers to have a Customer Code and Fund Account number, if applicable. (Not all customers have a Fund Account such as Counter Customers and Customers who use a Permit Service). The Customer Code associates the Address, Telephone/Fax Number, Point of Contact, etc with the Company Name. The Fund Account number is used for fund transaction(s) for customers using the online system or purchase their permits at a county counter location using the fund account.
  • How much does a permit cost?
    Currently the minimum cost for a permit is $30.00 ($60.00 for a Superload (see Superload question below)). For overweight loads there is a weight fee of $10.00 for every 8,000 pounds (or portion thereof) for weight over the legal weight limit of the vehicle.
  • How many days do I have to make my move?
    Hauling permit duration is five (5) days (Effective Date - Expiration Date).Permitted loads moving in the State of Delaware are authorized to move from sunrise to sunset Monday - Sunday unless otherwise noted in the Special Provision section of the permit.
  • How do I extend the Expiration Date of my permit after it is Validated (purchased)?
    On a Validated (purchased) permit the expiration date may be extended up to 3 days do to a breakdown of a piece of equipment.To request extending the expiration date you must contact the Hauling Permit Office.
  • How do I determine the Holiday travel restrictions?
    Office closure and holiday restrictions can be viewed by 'clicking' on the Holiday Restrictions link on the Main (menu) screen.
  • When and why do I need an Interstate permit?
    Federal regulations require the State of Delaware to establish the Federal Bridge Formula as the limiting factor for the determination of legal weights on the Interstate road system. The Delaware Department of Transportation in conjunction with the Delaware Contractors Association established a permitting program to allow three and four axle vehicles to carry loads on the Interstate roadways within Delaware that are otherwise legal on all other roads within the State under grandfather clauses in the Federal law. In order to qualify under the grandfather provisions, the permit must be a single trip permit.
  • What constitutes a Superload?
    A move is considered a Superload if the Length is at 120 feet, or the Width is at 15 feet, or if the Height is at 15 feet, or the Gross Weight is over 120,000 pounds. Superloads and moves involving a GVW under the superload classification will be subject to individual axle weight analysis by the DelDOT Bridge Management Section. The Bridge Management Section will automatically review permits with an individual axle weight greater than 28,000 pounds, however, analysis may occur at a lower weight on a case-by-case basis. Permit tee is responsible to effectively distribute a load or reduce the overall weight below this axle limit, as necessary, to lessen the higher live load forces overstressing state structures. Superload permit reviews could take up to fourteen (14) days.
  • What are Permanent and Temporary Route Restrictions?
    Permanent Route Restrictions are routes that are limited to vehicles with destinations inside the prescribed areas. This applies to all oversize and/or overweight loads up to 120,000 GVW. Requests for through movements will require individual analysis. Delays of two (2) working days will be typical. Reasons for exception shall be in writing. Temporary Route Restrictions are routes that are limited to vehicles with destinations inside the prescribed areas for a specific time frame. Temporary and Permanent Route Restrictions can be viewed by clicking on the Permanent Route Restrictions road sign or the Temporary Route Restrictions road sign located on the login screen.
  • What does the status Pending Bridge mean?
    See What constitutes a Superload? Question above.
  • What does the status Pending Signals mean?
    Permit requests of 15 feet or greater in height are routed to the DelDOT Signal Supervisor for review and approval action for the clearance of DelDOT signal equipment upon approval of Pending Route, Pending Bridge, or Pending After Hours status. In this status the permit will undergo a manual or automated Signal Supervisor review. Permit will remain in this status until the customer has contacted the appropriate county Signal Supervisor and obtained clearance. Customer must contact each appropriate county Signal Supervisor to discuss move. Signal Supervisor/Agent will in turn take appropriate approval action on the permit. If load passes through New Castle County call 302-326-4589; if load passes through Kent or Sussex Counties call 302-739-4366.
  • What does the status After Hours mean?
    If the customer requests movement after hours the status will change to Pending After Hours upon approval of Pending Route or Pending Bridge status. In this status the permit will undergo a manual or automated After Hours review. Communication between the customer and a Traffic Representative may have to take place before permit can receive an Approved status.

 ADA Information