Curbing Aggressive Driving
Aggressive driving is a contributing factor in a significant percentage of fatal crashes in Delaware; therefore, addressing aggressive driving behaviors is a critical factor in reducing statewide fatalities.
- Aggressive Driving Information
- Delaware's Aggressive Driving Law: Delaware Code, Title 21, Chapter 41 defines aggressive driving as violating three or more of the following sections:
- Ignoring a traffic control device, including a traffic control signal
- Passing on the shoulder
- Unsafe lane changes
- Following too closely
- Failure to yield the right-of-way
- Vehicles entering the roadway
- Failure to use turn signals
- Overtaking and passing a stopped school bus
If a driver commits three of these offenses in a single incident, that person will be charged with aggressive driving. They may be fined $100 to $300 or face 10 to 30 days in jail. In addition, the driver must complete a behavior modification course.
Residential Speeding Campaign
Press Release - July 1, 2008